Just like her editor, Rachel Hodgson puts the pro in procrastination. Read on to find out exactly how she does it!

So, as we finally reach the end of the Easter Holidays, it’s safe to say that with deadlines upon us and exams fast approaching – some faster than others – many students, myself included, are probably regretting their taking part in that age-old past-time: procrastination!

Of course, I’m sure that some may have been spending their Easter break holed up in their rooms with a chest of drawers in front of the door in an effort to block out all those distractions.

However, if you’re like me then you will undoubtedly have found many things inside your room that serve as an adequate distraction from the essay due to be handed in the next week; or the pile of texts that you simply can’t bring yourself round to reading. I must admit, I personally believe that the things I’ve done just to stave off work for another hour or three are both impressive and slightly ridiculous.

One of the main tasks I do is rearrange furniture. Yes, you read that right, I rearrange furniture for fun. Whilst some students are writing essays on American society during the era of prohibition or arguing the links between Vampirism and syphilis in Bram Stoker’s ‘Dracula’, I’m casually observing my bedroom and wondering whether my bed would look better on the back wall or underneath the window.

I’ve also organised both my wardrobe and drawers, throwing out clothes that I don’t wear then categorising them left to right in order of how frequently I wear each item. One rather slow Saturday when I was supposed to be revising for an exam I arranged my sock drawer. I made sure each sock had a mate, and that it matched as much as seemingly possible. I have a lot of odd socks, so you can imagine how long this takes.

Baking is a good one. On more than one occasion I’ve managed to get up from my desk to say, ‘I’m going to bake a cake! I’ve been looking at the same page for a good fifteen minutes now- I should reward my hard work by baking myself a cake.’

Obviously this isn’t a good idea, because not only am I neglecting my studies, but since I chose to do woodwork in secondary school instead of cookery; my cakes have never been the same. Not that I mind. Having the knowledge to knock together a table and chairs also comes in handy and means that I can sit down to eat my slightly dry sponge cake.

If you’re like me and can productively procrastinate until the cows come home, then I suggest you find somewhere where you can do work without distracting yourself. For me it fluctuates between the library and a good pub. During my final year of my A-levels I lived in my local Wetherspoons, I would spend hours revising in one of the booths there, and tell myself now that I subconsciously chose those particular seats because they were fixed to the floor and thus didn’t serve as a distraction.

Realistically you need to find somewhere that you specifically tie to work, separating your home area from your work area is one of the first steps to putting a stop to any of that tomfoolery procrastination that you may like to dabble in every now and then.

Of course at this time I feel I must apologise most profusely to my mam, who after reading this will probably be rushing to the phone to shout at me. I can’t say I blame her!

While procrastination is a fun and productive way of avoiding revision, we do want you all to pass your exams this year, so try and set aside some study time before it’s too late!

