You see and hear a lot of things in JC’s. A lot of it is pure nonsense: hangover stories, moans about lectures, etc. but sometimes you’ll find a gem that’s worth turning into a story.

Seeing Nathan from across the room talking to a woman who kept producing flasks and vials with interestingly-coloured liquids from a briefcase was one of those gems. After watching this scene out of the corner of my eye for a few minutes I had two possible conclusions- either Nathan was involved in some kind of MI5 business, or JC’s was going to start serving cocktails.

I haven’t been able to prove Nathan’s secret identity as a spy (yet), but I have learned that: yes, JC’s will be serving a great range of cocktails in glasses, pitchers and possibly fishbowls at some point in the near future. How do I know it’s going to be a great range? Because I was invited to sample them all, that’s why. Journalism may not the best career choice if you fancy driving a Ferrari, but you can’t deny that there are excellent perks that come with the job.

Successfully avoiding the temptation to down the contents of the ten glasses laid out in front of me, I tried to stay professional and take small sips of each one. Below are the results of my careful analysis with a score for each cocktail. According to the bar staff they’re looking to pick 5 or 6 of the best and take it from there.

Malibu Sun Splash

The first one I tried- this one was pretty- pinks and yellows- with fruit flavours and a bit of a kick. A good start!

Score: 8/10

Woo Woo

Classic-ish, and very strong! Nice berry flavours and a lovely purple colour that I reckon would stain your tongue after the first glass.

Score: 6/10

Tequila Sunrise

I’ve heard you can never have too much tequila, and they certainly followed that rule with this one. Similar colours to the Malibu- very nice.

Score: 7/10

Black Magic

Tasted a bit like Vimto but with a tiny aftertaste from the alcohol. Not bad.

Score: 5/10

Mojito

This was a let-down, unfortunately. Mojitos are my favourite, but for some reason the recipe they used included soda water so it was sparkling rather than still, without the flavours or quantity of alcohol a good mojito should have. Ay caramba!

Score: 3/10

The mojito in all its glory- the only cocktail that wasn’t up to scratch at JC’s

Sunset Boulevard

The tropical flavours seemed to be fairing the best- another with a strong kick and nice colours.

Score: 6/10

Cosmo

Wow. I spluttered a bit, I’m not going to lie, this was pretty damn strong. More ethanol than flavour, I think, but good effort.

Score: 7/10

Skittles

Fantastic colour, kind of a radioactive green. Very sickly sweet, but fun and not too strong. One for the freshers, I think.

Score: 5/10

Strawberry Daiquiri

Yum! Very fruity and light- essentially a strawberry smoothie with a drop of the good stuff.

Score: 8/10

Cheeky Vimto

Pretty much the same as the Black Magic- nice enough, dark berry flavours. Didn’t have as much of a kick so good if you don’t want anything too strong.

Score: 7/10

The bar staff were a bit tentative about how well they’d manage making cocktails on a busy night, but if they can handle the coffee machine I’m sure they can handle anything!

So there you have it- my assessment. Hopefully we’ll be seeing these as a permanent feature in JC’s pretty soon, until now, do you have any other cocktails you think JC’s should think of serving?

