Over the last few days most people haven’t heard from me and my housemates think I’ve died.  Yes it’s that time of year when I get all stressed and panic about the lack of work I’ve been doing and wonder instead, “what have I been spending my time doing?”  I never learn.   It’s hard to kick that horrible habit of procrastination especially when you’re fresh from Easter holidays.  I have recently discovered the Postgrad area in James Callaghan, it’s a pretty spiffy place I might add and unlike the library, it has windows that work and there is barely anybody in there!  I did actually stay until pretty late on Monday (11.30pm) and on my own as well.  What I discovered was that the inside of the building was extremely creepy at night and so decided to leave and spend the rest of the night working in my comfortable bed.

Nevertheless, I have now handed in two pieces of my portfolio with only one more to go this Friday and then I can die happy.  Oh wait, no I can’t.  It has just come to my attention that it’s my turn to face the dreaded D word… the dissertation.  The only problem is what kind of writing do I choose… what am I best at?  Now, I know for a fact my poetry is poor beyond words and that script writing is my forte.  But what kind of script writing do I decided on: radio, stage or screen?  It’s too much for me to think of right now.

A couple of weeks back, I had my first taste of the professional side of my degree.  I got to attend a radio session in BBC London Broadcasting House on a series called “Plantagenets” which contained plays about various Kings such as Richard I and Richard II.  I had never sat so long and so still in all of my life, it was a rather long recording day, 10am-6pm.  It was amazing how many different jobs they all had to do and unfortunately I didn’t get to meet the writer but both of the co-directors were amazing at what they did that day and answered any and all questions that I had.  The most exciting part of the day was to join in to help create a specific sound they had needed for a scene.

“We need some archers… would you guys like to help out?”

“Uh… yes!”

Most of us who were visiting that day were girls so we couldn’t make any noises as there was no such thing as a female archer in those days.  I expected them to hand us some bows to make the “twang” noise but instead we were handed gnarled wood and bits of broken wicker.  As bizarre as that was it was fun pretending to “fire” arrows by scraping the wood across the wicker with the other professional actors whilst making heavy breathing sounds and grunting.  Unfortunately, no I did not see/meet Chris Moyles or any of the other DJ’s as the Broadcasting house was in another section of the BBC.  At the end of the day, I actually learned quite a bit of useful information and techniques that would help me in my own writing of radio plays.

Hopefully, I’ll get my writing career started by writing for radio as many other writers have done.  I can’t wait for the day until I see my name printed on a script/in a programme/on TV.   Bur first, I need to pass my Masters!

