It’s that time of year again. Slowly but surely, as the weather heats up, the times of beach, barbecues and bonfires creeps up on this, which can only mean one thing.

Exams? What exams?

…you’re at the beach because you’re trying to ignore the impending exams aren’t you? It may still officially be the Easter holidays, but this is the time when panic hits students across campus, especially us final years. Torn between elation (these may be the last exams you ever sit) and dread (they won’t be your last if you fail them all!) I fully expect to be playing beach vs. library in the coming weeks.

It doesn’t help that we have an uncharacteristically short second half to teaching block two, due to the latest Easter most of us will have seen for a while. Post-dissertation hand in, I’ve lapsed into a state of utter unproductivity and laziness, as my essays languish somewhere in the ether. Using excuse after excuse, I’ve squandered any spare time I had between my four day a week internship and my interview at Cardiff, only to find myself ending the holidays with barely any academic work to show for it, and we all know I shouldn’t be doing any all-nighters anytime soon.

What is it about essays, presentations and exams which fuels such procrastination? We all knew what we were getting into when we began our degrees, if we were really so averse to academia, then digging ourselves a nice little hole of debt was hardly the right way to conduct our post-A Level lives. Take the recent Facebook group to have cropped up in a timely fashion: ‘Why am I acting like I don’t have exams?’

Let’s face it, the library doesn’t exactly have much of a chance against the beach. Exam time is when everyone rues campus’ proximity to the beach. In fact, you may have noticed our posts leaning towards the theme of ‘procrastination’ of late. I’m no scientist, but I bet there’s a direct correlation between student productivity and your proximity to the sea.

After all, who can blame the students of Swansea for choosing the beach over the library? The beach has sand, the library has none. The possibility of a barbecue on the beach is much greater than the possibility of a barbecue in the study hall. You’re probably more likely to find a computer on the beach than you are in the library. If you get too warm, a dip in the sea is always an option, not so when you’re sweltering in between piles of books.

Yep, I think we might be on to something. It’s all the beach’s fault. Definitely has nothing to do with an overall reluctance to get cracking on a 3,000 word essay, no siree. It’s far easier to head down to the beach and chill out than face the prospect that this next month could pretty much be the deciding factor between a 2:1 and a 2:2 or a degree or no degree. I’ve been grinning like an idiot since getting a place on the course in Cardiff; but I won’t be grinning so much if I don’t get my degree and fail to keep that place.

…so library wins. For now. Hang in there final years! Not long to go now!

