Easter break hasn’t quite finished and already I’m itching to get back, just like everyone else.  What better way to spend this gorgeous weather with your friends down the beach or sitting in front of Fulton House on the lawn?  Even if for most of you exams are looming and dissertations need to be handed in, it sure beats sitting inside a sweltering library feeling like you’re about to pass out!

I’ve been back and forth to Swansea whenever I’ve been feeling like I’m not getting enough work done at home.  It’s impossible to concentrate back in Cardiff what with all the hullabaloo over my sister’s impending wedding.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m very excited about her getting married but it’s just not a conducive atmosphere to work in with the constant, “what do you think of this colour scheme/flowers/dress?”

It’s really easy for a writer to get thrown off their work and for me it’s really easy to lose it and gain writer’s block instead.  Writer’s block is no one’s friend at any time and I always find myself wanting to procrastinate when I get it.  I’ll start talking to people on Facebook, reading, sleeping eating even though I’m not hungry… you get the picture!

Weddings alone are difficult, like a planning a kitchen, you have the exact design in mind but when it comes to the crunch anything can go wrong.  Asian weddings are by far the worst, and I’ve been to my fair share of them.  Sure to the outside world it looks fun, lively and, of course, colourful.  What you can’t see is that almost every one of those colourfully dressed people is hiding pained expressions.  I’m usually trying to hide boredom or the fact that I’m wearing uncomfortable shoes or my bodice is too tight.  It’s obviously not nice to complain about stuff during a wedding so I grin and bear it until I can make my escape.

As soon as I sort my own wedding clothes I don’t have anything else to do and I can concentrate on my masters without failing horribly like I always envision happening.  This means a trip to Southall in London, a place where you can find all the Asian clothes shops you want.  It’s a long, difficult and altogether harrowing experience which I’m never fond of doing.  We usually mill around the shop for about an hour or two looking at the colours and designs they have on offer and then once a decision has been made it means describing the type of style you want (i.e. sari), type of neckline, how long you want the sleeves, colour, embroidery design blah blah blah.  I told you, it’s harrowing.

Then there’s the annoyance of finding matching heels, bags, jewellery and what hairstyle you’ll want on the day.  Once that’s over I can get back to beloved Swansea where I’ll be safe for a while away from any more wedding nonsense.  I fear my sister may charge in to the university library one day next semester looking a bit crazed telling me that, “the caterers have cancelled” and break into floods of tears.  I most assuredly will tell the person sitting next to me, “I don’t know her” and swiftly move.  Sorry sis.

