It’s now the Easter holidays and since the excitement of last term I’m feeling a little bored but relaxed.  I am back in Cardiff and it’s a beautiful day outside which is a nice change from the usual weather we get in Wales.  It is bliss feeling as though I have nothing to do being the holidays but that’s just a trick.  Of course I have work to do, I have TONS of work to do!  Like the term before I have about 20,000 words to write and once that’s over I have to think about what I want to write for my dissertation, which is 15,000 words.  While a Masters in Creative Writing doesn’t sound terribly exciting I’m still loving every minute of it, even if I do start getting sleepy in some of my worksops.  I will most likely do my dissertation on script work but I haven’t decided whether I want to do radio, stage or screen writing.  I’m hoping it will hit me in the head soon enough before it gets too late!  I am a wonderful procrastinator it turns out and this sunny day is not helping matters.  Neither does the fact that I am trying to convince myself that my room needs a clean (it doesn’t).

Sometimes I really hate the holidays, they seem so much longer than they did when I was in school and I can’t think of much to do by myself.  It’s a bad habit, but I’ll admit that sleeping in till about midday is not the greatest of plans when you have work the size of the small novel to write.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not doing nothing all of the time!  Coming from a large family there is always something happening somewhere involving someone or the other.  Some days it can get a little hectic and I won’t come home until after midnight only for it to happen again the very next day.  Even when I’m in Swansea there’s still something to distract me, like new kittens called McKinley or the fact that I have Sky + in my house with a ridiculous back catalogue of Disney recorded on it or take away nights or as usual, sleeping.  I am such a bad person.

But fear not for I will get out of these bad habits and will be planning on spending my time in the library like I used to.  Every student at one point has lived in the library for at least seven hours straight without leaving campus.  It’s a rite of passage for us all and we must except the inevitability that one day, just one day… you will order a pizza to Fulton House because you’ve given up on all that is and will be.  It’s ok, I’ve been there.  It will probably happen again and you’ll see me in the corner of the Law Library or one of the postgraduate sections crying in to a slice of pizza.  Don’t be alarmed; just tell me everything will be ok.

